Frequently Asked Questions

How can I share a template with a friend?

On the Manage Template page there will be a menu option on the top right corner with the option to Share Template. Click that and select a method of sharing (email perhaps). Your friend needs to have CustomJournal installed. When they open it on their mobile device, they should choose to open it with the CustomJournal app and not their web browser. From there they will be able to save the template and start journaling with it right away.

How do I schedule a template (weekly, monthly)?

On the Edit Template page, there is a SCHEDULE tab right below the title bar. If you click this you get to the template scheduling menu. You can schedule a template to show on a daily, weekly, monthly or yearly basis. If a template is scheduled for the day, it will show up in a 'Scheduled Templates' section on the current day's entry to remind you to use that template. If you purchase Premium, you can also schedule a notification alert for each template.

How do I change the background image?

To change the background:

  1. Click “Change background image” from the settings menu and choose an image.
  2. A new window will pop up allowing you to crop the image. Just press “CROP” on the top right.
  3. You will have to do this twice, once for vertical and once for horizontal. So just hit “CROP” again.

That’s it. The image should be set as your background.

How do I add another template?

After you add a journal entry, a menu will appear in the top right. There is an option to Add Template

How do I sync my journal entries? (for premium users)

There is a settings option called 'Sync via Google Drive'. When you enable this you get an option in the top right menu to sync. This will sync the file using your Google Drive as the server. So you can sync up on one device and sync down on the other device. It merges changes between both devices by taking the most recent updated journal entry (Be careful here to sync first if you are editing the same entry simultaneously).

Where is my sync data located on Google Drive? (for premium users)

Google reserves a special app data folder for data created by an app. This prevents accidental deletion and added security. You can't see the data being stored in the app data folder. However, if you wanted to delete the sync file stored there you could:

  1. Go to https://drive.google.com and login using the same Google account that you used to sync
  2. Click on the gear Settings icon on the top right and select Settings from the menu
  3. Click on 'Manage Apps' on the left side nav drawer
  4. Select the Options button dropdown and it gives an option to delete the app data

When is the iPhone version coming?

As an independent developer I really want to focus on one platform first. If you want to be notified or would be willing to help out as an early tester for an iPhone version, please sign up through the link on the main page.

Are there any plans for a web based version that will sync to the app?

A web app is a great idea and I’d love to get to it but sorry, no plans for this in the immediate future. There are still a lot of pending features (stay tuned) for Android and I’d like to get to the iPhone version.

Have a question? Email me at customizablejournal@gmail.com